🔍 Read the full analysis: OpenAI Dev Day 2026 News: What Changed And What Comes Next on ThorstenMeyerAI.com
Get business pricing on monitors, keyboards and dev gear
- Business-only prices and quantity discounts
- Tax-exempt purchasing
- Multiple users, one account, clear invoices
TL;DR
OpenAI used its Sept. 29, 2026, DevDay to present ChatGPT as a platform for software agents, announcing Dots, expanded plugins, a limited-preview Decisions API and computer use for the Agents API. The company also introduced GPT-6.1 Sol and Sign in with ChatGPT for 16 launch partners. Availability, rollout details and some pricing beyond the first Dot remain unclear.
OpenAI announced more than 20 products and features at its DevDay on September 29, 2026, presenting ChatGPT as a platform where people and software agents can work across apps and business tools. The announcements include persistent Dots, expanded plugins, new developer APIs and GPT-6.1 Sol, a slate that could change how developers distribute software and automate work.
The largest consumer-facing announcement was Dots, persistent agents powered by GPT-6 Astra. OpenAI says each Dot has its own cloud computer and browser, can connect to more than 4,000 apps through plugins, and can keep working on projects over time. Users can reach Dots through ChatGPT on desktop, web and mobile, as well as Slack and Teams. Voice calls are available, while texting is still planned. OpenAI says the first Dot is included in eligible Pro and Business Premium plans in supported markets; chatting does not count toward usage limits, though tasks launched in Codex or ChatGPT Work do.
OpenAI described examples including monitoring customer feedback, preparing code changes, rerunning analysis when data updates and revising sales proposals when requirements shift. Those are company-provided examples, not independently verified performance results. The company says users can set rules to allow, require approval for or block actions, review background work and pause or stop a Dot. Some sensitive actions remain with the user, and OpenAI warns that Dots can make mistakes. Enterprise versions, called specialist Dots, are beginning with pilots in several business functions; OpenAI plans an integration with Microsoft Agent 365 for governance.
Plugins received a broad update across ChatGPT, Codex and Dots. OpenAI announced extensions that can appear in ChatGPT, a creator and submission flow, improved discovery, Sites for shared plugin access in organizations, and support for MCP events that can trigger automations when activity occurs in connected apps. The company also announced an OpenAI Marketplace where eligible enterprise customers can spend part of their OpenAI commitment with 32 launch partners. Separately, the Decisions API is in limited preview: developers define a finite set of answers and send text or images for GPT-6 Luna to classify or route. The Agents API gained computer use, with OpenAI running the Codex harness. OpenAI also announced Sign in with ChatGPT for 16 launch partners and GPT-6.1 Sol, which it describes as offering near-Astra intelligence at one-fifth of Astra’s token prices.
OpenAI DevDay 2026 at a glance
The five launches that matter, plus Sol
The rest of the slate
Collaboration
ChatGPT SpacelivePagesliveCollaborative slidesnext few weeksTeams and Team Taskslive@ChatGPT in Slack and TeamsliveMeetings pluginbeta, macOSShareable profilesliveCodex
Codex CloudliveCLI refreshvoice, /agentsCode ReviewliveCodex Security CloudlivePlans, enterprise, speed
Pro 500$500, 25× PlusUltrafastAstra now, Sol soonPrivate IntelligencePrivate Inference this fallBedrock Managed Agentsruns in AWSOpenAI Marketplace32 partners, applyAgents Could Change Software Distribution
The announcements put distribution through agents at the center of OpenAI’s developer pitch. If a user asks ChatGPT to complete a task and a plugin supplies the service, the user may reach a business through the agent without first searching for that business by name. That could make plugin discovery, access permissions and reliable task completion important routes to customers.
For developers, computer use and the Decisions API point to two ways of building agent workflows: letting an agent operate an existing interface, or giving an application a constrained choice from a developer-defined list. These tools could reduce manual steps in some processes, but the announcements do not establish how reliably they perform across real deployments. The new controls and approval settings matter because agents that act across connected services can affect business data and workflows.
Sign in with ChatGPT could also let partner apps accept a user’s existing ChatGPT plan, according to OpenAI’s announcement. That may give developers another way to offer paid features, though the commercial terms and user experience will shape whether it becomes a meaningful distribution channel.
From Chatbot to Agent Platform
OpenAI framed the event as a shift from ChatGPT as a conversational product toward a shared surface for people and agents. The company said ChatGPT reaches 1.2 billion weekly users; that figure is OpenAI’s stated reach, and the announcement did not specify a measurement method or reporting period beyond the weekly-user description.
The plugin changes extend a system for connecting ChatGPT to outside services. Under the announced approach, a plugin can include reusable skills, connections through MCP servers and optional user interface components. OpenAI’s directory and submission changes are intended to make those integrations easier to build and find. Its materials also list conversion formats for tasks such as reservations and checkout, and a guide for submitting a Claude Code plugin, suggesting an effort to accommodate skills from other agent ecosystems.
OpenAI’s model announcement was GPT-6.1 Sol, which the company positioned as a less expensive option with intelligence near GPT-6 Astra. The source material also refers to other models and offerings, including Ultrafast and Pro 500, but provides no specifications for them. No independent benchmark results or pricing tables were supplied in the announcement material used here.
Rollout and Performance Details Pending
Several practical details remain open. The source material does not give a general release date for the Decisions API, beyond saying it is in limited preview, or a date for its promised broad release. It also does not specify when Dots will reach all eligible markets or when texting will become available. Enterprise, Education and Healthcare access is described as a beta that administrators must enable, with the feature off by default.
OpenAI has not provided detailed pricing for adding Dots or buying extra speed and monthly output, nor full commercial terms for Sign in with ChatGPT and the Marketplace. The company describes GPT-6.1 Sol as near Astra’s intelligence at one-fifth the token prices, but the supplied material contains no independent evidence to assess that comparison. The reliability of agent actions, the scope of safeguards in practice and how plugin selection will work across competing services also remain to be demonstrated.
Previews, Pilots and Partner Rollouts
Developers can look for further access details through OpenAI’s preview and submission processes: the Decisions API remains in limited preview, and the updated plugin creator and directory are intended to support submissions and discovery. Organizations will need administrators to enable the Dots beta where it is offered. OpenAI says specialist Dots are starting with pilots in procurement, invoice processing, email marketing, customer support and commercial contracting.
The next evidence to watch is broader availability, published API and product pricing, and results from customers using agents in routine work. OpenAI has also signaled a planned Microsoft Agent 365 integration. Until those rollouts produce more details, the DevDay announcements establish the direction of the platform, while leaving adoption, performance and costs to be tested.
Key Questions
What were the main announcements at OpenAI DevDay 2026?
OpenAI announced Dots, expanded plugins, a limited-preview Decisions API, computer use for the Agents API, Sign in with ChatGPT for 16 launch partners and GPT-6.1 Sol.
Who can use OpenAI Dots?
OpenAI says Dots are available to Pro and Business Premium users in eligible markets. Enterprise, Education and Healthcare customers can access a beta when an administrator enables it; it is off by default.
What does the Decisions API do?
It lets developers define a finite list of allowed answers and submit text or images for GPT-6 Luna to classify or route. OpenAI says the API is in limited preview.
How does GPT-6.1 Sol compare with GPT-6 Astra?
OpenAI describes Sol as offering near-Astra intelligence at one-fifth of Astra’s token prices. The supplied announcement material does not include independent benchmarks or a detailed price comparison.
Source: ThorstenMeyerAI.com
Fall Picks
fall essentials
As an affiliate, we earn on qualifying purchases.
