AIThis post was created with the assistance of artificial intelligence (AI).

🔍 Read the full analysis: ChatGPT Pro After The Update: Limits And Plan Details on ThorstenMeyerAI.com

Buying for a business?Offer from Amazon

Get business pricing on monitors, keyboards and dev gear

  • Business-only prices and quantity discounts
  • Tax-exempt purchasing
  • Multiple users, one account, clear invoices
As an affiliate, we earn on qualifying purchases.

TL;DR

OpenAI canceled a planned reduction to ChatGPT Pro 200’s Work and Codex allowance and increased that shared allowance for Pro 100 and Pro 500 subscribers. The company says Pro 200 users on the lower allowance now match those who already had the higher one; prices and several other limits are unchanged.

OpenAI canceled a planned cut to the ChatGPT Pro 200 plan’s Work and Codex allowance on October 29, a day before it was due to take effect, and doubled that shared allowance for Pro 100 and Pro 500 subscribers. The changes leave monthly prices unchanged, but do not double every ChatGPT limit: OpenAI says some chat limits and Plus usage stay the same.

In release notes titled “More Work and Codex usage on Pro and Business Premium Plans,” OpenAI said Pro 100 and Pro 500 now include twice their previous Work and Codex allowance. ChatGPT Work and Codex draw on the same allowance, according to the company’s pricing information, so the increase applies to their shared pool rather than providing separate amounts for each service.

For Pro 200, which costs $200 a month, OpenAI says it canceled the reduction announced in a September 29 email. Subscribers who were on the lower allowance get an increase to match the higher one; users who already had the higher allowance keep it. The updated help page says existing subscribers receive the changes automatically, without waiting for a renewal, and new subscriptions include the updated allowance.

OpenAI also said Business Premium usage is increasing, but its release note did not give a multiplier. Thibault Sottiaux, an OpenAI product lead who posts as Tibo, described the Business Premium increase as a doubling on X. The help page gives a narrower account of the changes: Pro 100 and Pro 500 retain their weekly GPT-6 Pro chat limits, while the lower weekly limit on Pro 200 rises to match the higher one. Plus usage and prices are unchanged, and Ultrafast remains exclusive to Pro 500.

At a glance
updateWhen: Announced October 29, 2026; changes app…
The developmentOn October 29, OpenAI reversed a planned Pro 200 usage cut and announced increased Work and Codex allowances for Pro 100, Pro 500 and Business Premium.
Thorsten Meyer AI
ChatGPT plans

Infographic 01 · After 29 October 2026

What each ChatGPT plan gets now.

OpenAI doubled the Work and Codex allowance on two Pro plans, restored the third and raised Business Premium. Prices stay the same.

2×Work and Codex allowance on Pro 100 and Pro 500
20×Plus on Pro 200 again, for everyone (my arithmetic, OpenAI’s Sept scale)
$0price changes on any plan
1Pro plan with Ultrafast: Pro 500

Pro 100$100 / month

2×Work + Codex allowanceDoubled
  • Weekly GPT-6 Pro chat limit unchanged
  • No Ultrafast

Pro 200$200 / month

Cut cancelledRestored
  • Higher allowance: you keep it
  • Lower allowance: doubled to match
  • Lower weekly GPT-6 Pro chat limit now matches the higher one

Pro 500$500 / month

2×Work + Codex allowanceDoubled
  • Weekly GPT-6 Pro chat limit unchanged
  • Only Pro plan with Ultrafast

Business Premium$100 annual · $125 monthly per seat

Moreno factor publishedIncreased
  • Release note: usage “increasing”
  • Tibo’s post: “doubling”
  • No five-hour limit

Plus$20 / month

SameUnchanged
  • “Plus usage is unchanged” (OpenAI)

Standard, Go, FreeBusiness Standard seats, Go, Free

—Not mentioned
  • Not part of the 29 Oct notes

What “Work and Codex” means

  • ChatGPT Work: ChatGPT’s mode for longer jobs, from research to documents
  • Codex: OpenAI’s coding agent, in the app, the terminal and the cloud
  • Both draw from one shared allowance, like a shared data plan

What did not double

  • Weekly GPT-6 Pro chat limits on Pro 100 and Pro 500
  • Plus usage, and every price
  • Dots: extended limits continue “for now”, counted separately

Twice the allowance is not twice the work. “A larger allowance does not guarantee twice as many completed tasks.”OpenAI, About ChatGPT Pro tiers

Sources: OpenAI ChatGPT release notes, 29 Sep and 29 Oct 2026; OpenAI, About ChatGPT Pro tiers, updated 29 Oct 2026; ChatGPT Business release notes, 28/29 Oct 2026; Tibo (OpenAI) on X, 29 Oct 2026; ChatGPT Business overview. The 20× figure is my arithmetic on OpenAI’s September scale.
Powered by Thorsten Meyer AI

What the New Allowances Change

The adjustment changes how much eligible Work and Codex use subscribers can get from certain plans, while leaving their monthly prices in place. It matters most to people running longer research, document or multi-step tasks through Work, and to developers using Codex. The two services share an allowance, however, so the increase is not a separate doubled quota for each.

The change also shows why plan labels alone do not describe every limit. A larger Work and Codex allowance does not mean every model, feature or speed setting has a higher cap. OpenAI says actual usage depends on the model, task and speed mode. Users comparing plans should check the specific allowance they need, rather than assume the overall service has become twice as available.

For businesses, the change may affect how teams distribute paid seats, but the information published so far does not quantify Business Premium’s increase. Companies should distinguish subscription allowances from API budgets: the announcement concerns ChatGPT plan usage, and the source material does not say that API pricing or limits changed.

Bose QuietComfort Wireless Bluetooth Headphones with Active Noise Cancellation, Mic, USB‑C Charging, Deep Bass, 24‑Hour Battery – White Smok

Bose QuietComfort Wireless Bluetooth Headphones with Active Noise Cancellation, Mic, USB‑C Charging, Deep Bass, 24‑Hour Battery – White Smok

Apple AirPods Pro 3 Wireless Earbuds with Active Noise Cancellation

Apple AirPods Pro 3 Wireless Earbuds with Active Noise Cancellation

Bose QuietComfort True Wireless Earbuds with Active Noise Cancellation, Black

Bose QuietComfort True Wireless Earbuds with Active Noise Cancellation, Black

As an affiliate, we earn on qualifying purchases.

September’s Planned Pro 200 Cut

The reversal follows a series of changes to OpenAI’s paid plans. On September 10, OpenAI paused new sign-ups for Pro 200. TechCrunch reported that Sottiaux linked the move to demand for the company’s GPT-6 Astra model, describing that demand as “really unprecedented.” That description was his explanation, not an independently verified measure of demand.

On September 29, OpenAI reopened Pro 200 and introduced Pro 500. A release note said usage allowances were changing and that affected customers would receive more information by email. In a post that day, Sottiaux described the plan ladder as Plus at 1X, Pro 100 at 5X and Pro 200 at 10X, while saying some existing Pro 200 subscribers would keep a 20X multiplier “for a bit.” Those figures describe the scale presented at the time; the October 29 update later canceled the planned reduction and raised the lower Pro 200 allowance.

OpenAI’s October 29 release notes and updated help page are the clearest sources for the current plan details. Sottiaux’s post used broader wording about doubling usage limits across plans. Where that wording differs from the company’s help page, this account follows the more specific limits listed in the help page.

“We are doubling all usage limits for all Pro 100/200/500 tiers and Business Premium, effective today.”

— Thibault Sottiaux, posting as Tibo, on X

Limits Still Not Fully Specified

OpenAI’s release note says Business Premium usage is increasing but does not state how much. Sottiaux said it would double, leaving a difference between the official release note and his broader post. The source material does not include a more detailed Business Premium allowance table to resolve that difference.

The updated information also does not provide exact unit quantities for each plan’s Work and Codex allowance. OpenAI cautions that usage varies by model, task and speed mode, so the announced multiplier alone cannot show how many jobs a particular subscriber can complete. The source material does not report any changes to Free, Go or Business Standard plans, and their status should not be inferred from their omission.

OpenAI’s detailed help page says Pro 100 and Pro 500 weekly GPT-6 Pro chat limits are unchanged, despite Sottiaux’s broader phrase “all usage limits.” The precise reason for the different descriptions is not stated. The available information confirms the listed plan changes, but not a universal doubling across every ChatGPT feature.

How Subscribers Can Check Changes

OpenAI says existing eligible subscribers receive the updated allowance automatically, without waiting for their next billing date. Customers can check their account’s usage information and the current Pro-tier help page to see which allowance applies. There is no announced separate sign-up step for the change.

For anyone weighing a plan change, the next useful detail would be an official breakdown of Business Premium’s new allowance and the actual usage amounts attached to each tier. Until OpenAI publishes more specific figures, subscribers should treat the stated multipliers as plan comparisons, not as a guarantee of a fixed number of tasks. The company has not announced another date for a plan adjustment in the material available here.

Key Questions

What changed for ChatGPT Pro 200?

OpenAI canceled a planned reduction to Pro 200’s Work and Codex allowance. Subscribers on the lower allowance now match those who already had the higher one; existing subscribers receive the change automatically.

Did OpenAI double every ChatGPT limit?

No. OpenAI says Pro 100 and Pro 500 received twice their previous Work and Codex allowance. The Pro 100 and Pro 500 weekly GPT-6 Pro chat limits and Plus usage are unchanged.

Did ChatGPT prices change?

No price changes are listed in the October 29 announcement. The source material gives monthly prices of $100 for Pro 100, $200 for Pro 200 and $500 for Pro 500.

How much more usage does Business Premium get?

OpenAI’s release note says Business Premium usage is increasing but gives no number. Thibault Sottiaux said it would double, but the published help details cited here do not specify a multiplier.

Do subscribers need to wait for renewal?

No. OpenAI’s updated help page says existing subscribers receive the new allowance automatically, without waiting for renewal.

Source: ThorstenMeyerAI.com

You May Also Like

Code Review Tools For Developers: A Back to school Guide

Discover the top code review tools that boost quality, collaboration, and efficiency. Find out which solutions fit your team best today.

One Video In, a Whole Publishing Kit Out — Without the Cloud

Discover how local AI tools can transform a single video into a full publishing package—no cloud needed. Faster, private, and cost-effective workflows explained.

8 Best Gaming Motherboards for High-Performance PC Builds in 2026

Discover the best gaming motherboards of 2026, including ASUS, GIGABYTE, MSI, and ASUS TUF models, tailored for high-performance builds and future upgrades.

What Are The Top AI Trends In 2026?

Explore the most significant AI trends shaping 2026, including advancements in generative AI, ethical frameworks, and industry applications, based on latest reports.