🔍 Read the full analysis: Retell Turns To OpenAI Models To Support 100M Calls Each Month on ThorstenMeyerAI.com
Get business pricing on monitors, keyboards and dev gear
- Business-only prices and quantity discounts
- Tax-exempt purchasing
- Multiple users, one account, clear invoices
TL;DR
Retell says its voice AI platform handles 100 million calls per month with help from OpenAI models. The announcement does not specify when the figure was measured, how a call is counted, which models are used, or how much of the reported activity depends on them.
Retell says its voice AI platform handles 100 million calls per month, with OpenAI models helping power the service, as described in the original analysis. The reported volume points to substantial activity on the platform, but Retell has not specified the measurement period or how it defines a call, limiting what the figure shows about completed conversations, customer use or performance.
The announcement links Retell’s voice AI service with OpenAI models and reports a monthly total of 100 million calls. It does not identify the models involved or explain which parts of a phone interaction they handle. The information also does not state what share of the platform’s reported calls uses OpenAI models.
The figure is presented as a monthly call count, not as a number of unique users, revenue, completed conversations or successful outcomes. Retell has not disclosed whether the total includes inbound and outbound calls, repeat attempts, or interactions that end before a conversation is completed. No customer list or use-case breakdown accompanies the reported figure.
The announcement gives no earlier call-volume figure or comparison period. The 100 million total therefore cannot establish a growth rate or demonstrate an increase over a prior month. No independently verified measurement method is described in the available details, and no performance figures for accuracy, response time, cost or customer outcomes are provided.
What 100 Million Calls Signals
The reported volume offers a scale indicator for a voice AI provider: Retell says its service is handling a large monthly number of calls while using OpenAI models. For organizations weighing automated phone services, and for companies supplying the technology behind them, usage at this scale may be relevant when judging whether voice AI is being deployed in real operations.
But the headline number cannot show how many distinct callers use the system or whether their calls reach a satisfactory outcome. Without a clear counting rule and performance data, readers cannot make a reliable comparison with other services or assess whether the system improves service or lowers costs. The claim describes reported activity, not evidence of quality or business impact.
The distinction matters because a call attempt and a completed, useful conversation are different measures. A defined period, counting method and outcome data would make the figure more informative for customers and competitors. Until then, the announcement supports a narrower conclusion: Retell reports 100 million calls monthly, but the operational meaning of that total remains unclear.
Popular right now

Bose QuietComfort Wireless Noise-Cancelling Over-Ear Headphones, Black

Bose QuietComfort True Wireless Earbuds with Active Noise Cancellation, Black

Samsung 48-Inch S90H OLED 4K Smart TV (2026)
As an affiliate, we earn on qualifying purchases.
Retell’s Voice AI and OpenAI
Retell provides a voice AI platform, and the announcement says OpenAI models help power it. Voice AI services are designed to support spoken interactions over phone calls. However, the details provided here do not describe Retell’s technical setup or explain whether OpenAI models handle speech understanding, response generation or another task in the service.
The announcement frames the 100 million figure as a monthly volume, but does not provide a date range or an earlier baseline. That leaves the count without the details needed to understand how it was compiled or to compare it with other time periods. The figure should not be read as a measure of users, completed calls or growth.
“100 million calls per month”
— Retell
How Retell Counts Calls
The measurement period and definition of a call have not been specified. It is unclear whether the total counts attempts, completed calls, calls that reach a live conversation, or another measure of platform activity. The announcement also does not say whether it includes both inbound and outbound calls or repeat attempts.
Other details needed to interpret the claim are also absent: the specific OpenAI models, their roles, and the share of calls that use them. Retell has not provided figures on accuracy, latency, pricing, customer outcomes or independent verification of the reported count in the available announcement. Without a prior baseline, the figure does not establish growth.
Details Needed to Interpret Scale
Further information from Retell could clarify when the 100 million calls were measured, what the company counts as a call and whether the total represents attempts or completed conversations. Naming the OpenAI models and explaining their roles would help readers understand how the partnership operates.
The announcement does not set out a next milestone or a timeline for additional disclosures. Until Retell provides more detail, the figure remains a company-reported monthly volume rather than a directly comparable measure of service performance or customer outcomes.
Primary source: OpenAI · via Key Questions Retell says its voice AI platform handles 100 million calls per month with help from OpenAI models. The announcement details do not name the specific OpenAI models or explain what tasks they perform during calls. That is not clear. Retell has not specified whether the total includes call attempts, completed calls or another measure of platform activity. No growth rate can be inferred from the announcement. It provides no earlier baseline or comparison period against which to measure the monthly total. No. The reported count does not establish accuracy, call quality, cost savings or customer outcomes, and no performance data is provided in the announcement details. Primary source: OpenAI · via ThorstenMeyerAI.comWhat did Retell report?
Which OpenAI models does Retell use?
Does the figure count completed calls?
Does 100 million calls show that Retell is growing?
Does the figure show how well the service performs?
